Six on Saturday: the one with all the Dutch Irises (27 May 2023)

In a week where I lost my phone (and over a year’s worth of unbacked photos) and was almost refused admission to The Newt due to a minor RHS student membership administrative oversight, the Dutch Irises have just been calmly getting on with things with minimal fuss.

They were my Six on Saturday, a meme originally started by The Propagator. For more Sixes on Saturday, from all around the world, head over to the blog of the current Six on Saturday host, Jim. Hmm. I know I said these SoSs were going to be brief over the next four weeks but perhaps there’s time for a sneaky encore SoS? I think there might be. Here are six views of The Newt…

14 thoughts on “Six on Saturday: the one with all the Dutch Irises (27 May 2023)

  1. Ooh no your phone! I just put on six months of my photos on the computer and that was a lot! What is the Newt? I am guessing it is some kind of horticultural college. Good luck with your studies! Those Dutch irises are so lovely and are in some colours I’ve never seen before! 🌸

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Alas the phone hasn’t been handed in. A replacement has been bought, passwords have been changed, lessons regarding putting phones in jacket pockets and not backing up photos have been learnt. Details of The Newt can be found here: https://thenewtinsomerset.com/garden (you need a small loan to pay for admission though unless you join the RHS when they’re doing a special membership offer and visit The Newt on a Tuesday when it’s free to RHS members).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ouch to the photos. I move mine onto the laptop every time I use the phone to take photos. Also back them up onto another drive. I’m a bit obsessed when it comes to photos. Love the irises, the ones I planted last year in the ground haven’t returned (exception of one), but the bulbs I had in a pot and removed to plant in my former bamboo bed are flowering beautifully. Do you lift yours each year?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely Iris, beautiful colours and lovely photos of The Newt, I must make the effort to go now it has been redesigned. Sorry to hear about your phone, would hate to lose my photos.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment