Six on Saturday (15 April 2023)

Well, spring was nice while it lasted. The weather took a turn for the worse on Monday and has remained nasty, off and on, for much of the week.

Last weekend I finally managed to get most of the seeds sown (none of which have appeared at the time of writing this). That just leaves the packets of the scatter-and-hope-for-the-best lot to sow if I can find some soil that isn’t swamped by the foliage of Tulips and Narcissi. Talking of which…

1. Some of the earlier flowering Narcissi are starting to go over now. However, the paler varieties, most of which seem to flower later than the the yellow lot, are still going strong (apart from those that have been flattened by the wind and rain). On the left is a rather pretty variety that was in a free pack of mixed Narcissi from J Parker’s. On the right is ‘Sorbet’ which has flowered for ages.

2. Next up is Narcissus ‘Geranium,’ a deliciously fragrant variety that has returned for a second year. I must plant more of these come the autumn.

3. It’s not all Narcissi though. Oh no. The Tulips are managing to withstand the inclement weather. I think this one is ‘Burnt Sugar,’ planted back in 2020. I forgot to check out their scent when I took these photos.

4. Another Tulip planted back in 2020, ‘Green Dance’ appears to to be thriving in this spot. It’s an unusual looking thing. Sometimes I really like it. Other times I wonder why on earth I bought it.

5. I definitely like ‘World Friendship’ though. Tall yet surprisingly robust, it’s a lovely yellow.

6. And finally… Reading The Nostalgic Gardener’s SoS a few weeks ago I realised that my 10 year old Viburnum carlesii ‘Compactum’ was looking decidedly bare of both leaves and flower buds. Upon further investigation the flower buds (which tend to start forming in the autumn) had barely developed at all and newly emerging leaves had died. Chopping back a stem revealed a tiny bit of green, but it didn’t look hopeful. I’m not sure what went wrong: the drought last summer, the cold snaps during the winter, the deluge of rain? Who knows. When I dug it up the ground seemed very damp and cold. It’s not an easy shrub to find and even the nursery we bought it from originally (Triscombe Nurseries) no longer listed it on their website. However, undeterred, my wife gave them a ring and it turned out they had two left. We reserved one (hence the blue label) and headed off early last Saturday to collect it. It has been planted in a new spot and a Hydrangea has been moved to take the place of the deceased Viburnum. Order has been restored. A spring without these fragrant flowers just wouldn’t seem right somehow.

They were my Six on Saturday, a meme originally started by The Propagator. For more Sixes on Saturday, from all around the world, head over to the blog of the current Six on Saturday host, Jim. Hmm, it looks rather pleasant out there this morning. Sunny and calm. Perhaps spring has isn’t over after all.

30 thoughts on “Six on Saturday (15 April 2023)

  1. The tulip ‘Grenn Dance’ is original. Hard to say if we like it or not but I think it should be part of a group with other more classic tulips to make a nice set. I’m always in awe of your swing and the bench overlooking your garden !

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ooh wow your garden is really looking superb. Love that shot of the daffodils in the mirror! 🌸 Glad you found another viburnum. You seem to have a whole world of narcissus varieties compared to us. I just placed my bulb order for this year.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love that bench! Ok – I know I’m not supposed to be admiring the bench – honestly your tulips and narcissi are doing a great job in the garden. I seem to recall seeing T. ‘Burnt Sugar’ in one of your posts in the past. It’s doing great for being planted in 2020. ‘Green Dance’ adds a touch of drama, don’t you think? Glad you managed to get your viburnum!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The bench was bought a number of years ago to replace a rotting wooden one that was here when we bought the house. It folds up so I can store it in the shed over the winter, although this winter I decided to leave it out so I could sit and enjoy the fragrance of the winter honeysuckle.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I found your description of looking into the poor performance of your Viburnum, and your quest to finding a replacement touching. I’m sure you will be tending to the new one carefully. The fact that this was a joint effort makes me wonder whether Mrs OMAHGT is your muse when it comes to the garden or whether she also gets involved with any gardening. Mr S is my muse of course, and it is almost nearly strictly hands off as far as he is concerned unless I require a little muscle or height.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mrs OMAHGT is a great help when it comes to digging up small trees and overgrown shrubs! The Viburnum was one of the first shrubs we bought for the garden – we both fell for the fragrant flowers when we saw it. She’s rather good at taking cuttings too. Another Viburnum we have was grown from a cutting she took of one growing in the garden of the first home we rented together.

      I was rather fearful the old carlesii had been got by honey fungus (there was a sort of white fungus at the base of some of the stems) but I don’t think so. Still, to be on the safe side I’ve planted it on the other side of the garden which gets more sun.

      Like

  5. Lovely colourful Six this week, and I too like Green Dance, very unusual and different from the norm. Its always sad when you lose a shrub that you are fond of, well done for tracking down a replacement. Like your first photo of your view down the garden, I would be tempted to sit there and not do any gardening!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Funnily enough I was discussing tulip shapes with the greenhouse maker recently, we decided that the classic tulip shape is our favourite, perhaps Green Dance is just trying to hard to be different? So glad to hear you found a replacement Viburnum C! It’s true one doesn’t see them for sale so often though it’s well worth the effort to track down IMO – bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I like the bench too. Must try and get one this year. Green Dance looks a lot like Green Star that I have had. In fact some came back last year, but none this. I tend to opt for triumph tulips as they are stronger and resistant to wind and rain, though I do like lily ones too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment