Six on Saturday (23 March 2019)

Ahh. Stillness. After a few weeks of unsettled, blustery weather, we’ve had 5 days of calm. It’s been rather nice. Alas, it was still a bit blowy last Sunday when I did some more seed sowing. Packets of Antirrhinum, dwarf Sweet Peas, Cornflowers and Corncockle were chased across the lawn. Marigold seeds, collected from last year’s flowers, were carefully emptied from a brown paper envelope into the palm of my hand and promptly took flight. And a pot of dahlia seeds had to be resown after they were knocked over, alas not by the elements, but by my size twelve feet. Oh to have a potting shed.

Of all the seeds I’ve ever sown, I don’t think any have germinated quite so quickly as my first SoS.

1. Last Saturday I mentioned I’d sown a free packet of Morning Glory ‘Split Second Double’ that I’d got with the Garden News magazine. They were soaked overnight in tepid water and plonked in a pot, covered with a plastic bread bag and put on a windowsill. Five days later, one of them had begun to poke through the surface of the compost. Now, around 13 days after they were sown, they’re ready to be potted on.

2. The garden has always been a bit lacking when it comes to Spring colour. So last Autumn I purchased packs of daffs, narcissus and crocus. I’m glad I did as the existing daffodils in the garden (Little Witch) have been a big failure this year – lots of leafy growth but only one flower, which was soon flattened in the gales. The new bulbs have all done well. These fragrant Narcissus tazetta minnow are the latest of the new batch to flower…

… along with these tiny Narcissus tazetta canaliculatus.

3. While the wind has flattened most of the bluey-purple and pink hyacinths in the garden, the yellow variety appear to be made of tougher stuff!

4. Possibly my favourite of all the Spring flowers next; Chionodoxa. Planted a few years ago, they’re slowly beginning to spread in the border near the tiny wildlife pond. Last year they were a favourite with the slimy plant assassins of the night. This year they seem to be faring much better.

5. These cream double primroses were given to me over 10 years ago by a friend from work. They’ve been split many times and given to friends and family. They appear to glow in the evening light. I didn’t notice until I was zooming in that there’s a bug of some sort lurking amongst the petals of the larger flower.

6. And finally… Flower buds on the banksiea rose (Rosa banksiea ‘Luea’). I originally planted this against a West facing fence but it didn’t really do much and refused to flower. It was moved last Autumn to the South facing fence after I got shot of the not-in-the-slightest-bit-scented ‘highly fragrant’ Jasminum humile ‘Revolutum’ (which is now living happily at my mother-in-law’s). Judging from the new growth and the flower buds it appears to like the new sunnier position. Very exciting!

And they were my Six on Saturday. For more Sixes on Saturday, from all around the world, take a look at the site of the chap who started it all over at https://thepropagatorblog.wordpress.com.

25 thoughts on “Six on Saturday (23 March 2019)

  1. I’ve just had my Chionodoxa come through. I’d forgotten I’d planted them last year so were a surprise last year and a surprise again this year. There getting a bit drowned out by tulips though. I think I need to move the group together for a bit more impact or add some more.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Chionodoxa are so pretty flowers! I planted bulbs 2 years ago and they spread slowly, as you said. Mine have been planted in the lawn and I have to get around them when I mow the lawn …
    About Morning Glory, where will you plant them later? Still in pot or in the ground? against a wall?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In the ground against a fence or two and possibly a few in a pot. I’m not sure whether to pinch them out as you would with sweet peas to encourage a few stems.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m visiting my parents in Wales at the moment and their garden has swathes of them. They’re everywhere!

        Like

    1. Thank you. I’m hoping to split the primroses once they’ve finished flowering to place them in a few more places in the garden. Not sharing them this year!

      Like

      1. I have mainly dwarf daffodils that last quite a few weeks. I’m okay with that (so long as the wind and rain doesn’t flatten them!) I haven’t yet cracked successional flowering to keep a variety of narcissus going for a few months.

        Like

  3. Bulbs are such an easy way to create colour in early spring. I bought loads last autumn and am well pleased with the results. Chionodoxa are sooo pretty, but hard to photograph, you have done well with this one. And I like your double primrose, so much nicer than all the vibrant shades on offer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I got lucky with the Chionodoxa photo. They’ve been nibbled now! I’ll definitely get some more bulbs later in the year.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve never grown it before. Looking forward to seeing how it does after watching that annual climbers segment on Gardeners’ World the other week.

      Like

  4. Slimey Assassins of the night 😂 love it!!! But not them obv 🤭 We also sewed some Marigold seeds in seed trays…..and I’m 100% sure randomly wherever they blew in the garden! Funny seeds to handle, first timing sewing them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hope your marigolds do okay! They’re interesting seeds. Remind me a bit of tiny matchsticks or arrows.

      Like

Leave a comment