Six on Saturday (2 March 2024)

For one brief moment on St Davids Day (the first day of meteorological spring) the rain stopped, the wind dropped and the colours of the flowers popped as the clouds cleared to reveal a seldom seen of late big yellow shiny thing in the sky. These photos were taken during that short respite from the gloom…

1-3. Pulmonaria ‘Blue Ensign’ is doing its iridescent blue thing, Hellebore ‘Single primrose shades’ is doing its translucent primrose shades thing (and yes, that’s blue sky), and what was once a rather drab corner of the garden, over by the conservatory, is looking rather colourful with the return of a Narcissus ‘Jet Fire,’ co-mingling rather nicely with Hellebore ‘Sugar Plum,’ Helleborus liguricus, a blue Hyacinth and some Primroses.

4-6. One of the most resilient and early flowering Narcissus, ‘Tete-a-Tete,’ has been weathering the, err, weather rather well (I must plant some more), Hellebore ‘Single white blotched’ has got into its flowery stride, and the first Muscari has bloomed, over by the small wildlife pond.

That was my rather brief Six on Saturday, a meme originally started by The Propagator. For more Sixes on Saturday, from all around the world, head over to the blog of our Six on Saturday host, Jim.

16 thoughts on “Six on Saturday (2 March 2024)

  1. Your weather’s been much like ours, but the biggest problem here has been high winds, not the ‘fresh breeze’ the forecast predicted. Nothing’s drab when you have so many spring floral lovelies to brighten an area. You’ve done a good job with your planting in that corner – the combination of N. ‘Jetfire’, Hellebores and Hyacinth creates a cheerful scene. Great to see a muscari in bloom along with Tete a Tete and that gorgeous Hellebore ‘Single White Blotched’!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The next ‘Blue Ensign’ is coming home with me. I had it in my previous garden, and didn’t bring any with me. I wonder which of my local friends has it and from whom I could cadge a piece? Love the Hellebores. 

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It would be lovely to meet you we ought to synchronise as I don’t go to every meeting, but I am really hoping that Blue Ensign will be featuring at the plant sale at The Bishop’s Palace this month, or at the HPS Plant Sale at Yeo Valley where I am volunteering. I too find White Sissinghurst does very well here, and I have been able to propagate dozens of plants since I moved. Most are given away, and I have three clumps

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Blue, pink, yellow – your garden is a kaleidoscope of colours. Jetfire is a beauty, I saw them on several SOSer’s blogs and was determined to have some. I am still waiting for my muscari to have any impact and the pulmonaria are only just growing leaves! S&S have been munching on my tete a tete this year (and snowdrops and winter aconites – never seen that happen before) or maybe it’s pigeons?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s tiny snails that are polishing off the flowers in my garden this spring. It’s putting me off growing anything from seed this year – I fear the seedlings won’t stand a chance! A pigeon was balancing precariously on the end of a Winter Honeysuckle branch yesterday, eating the new leaves.

      Like

Leave a comment