Six on Saturday (9 March 2024)

It’s been a week of sun, frost and showers. The sparrows are busy gathering nesting material in the garden, pulling at the silvery strands of Stipa out in the front garden. Last Sunday dawned bright and sunny and I finally felt motivated enough to get out in the garden to do a bit of tidying up. Roses were pruned, blood was spilt and wounds were attended to. They weren’t the only plants to receive a bit of a chop, and that leads me to my first Six on Saturday…

1-3. The faded blooms of Hydrangea ‘Miss Belgium’ were removed, initially with great care, chopping back to a strong bud, and then a little less carefully as I couldn’t quite reach far enough into the border to get at them without trampling on this and that. The Hyacinths have done really well this year, although several have toppled over due to the sheer weight of the blooms. This is a double flowered variety in the front garden (I raced out with my camera having checked there was nobody about – I’m not very sociable). In a corner of the back garden the half standard Prunus incisa ‘Kojo-no-Mai’ is bursting into flower – I suspect it will feature again over the coming weeks.

4-6. One plant that has featured on numerous occasions is the Winter Honeysuckle. It started flowering in December but is still producing the odd fragrant bloom. A few of the oldest stems will get chopped back to the ground in a few weeks to encourage some new shoots. I’m still having issues with tiny snails munching on the flowers of this and that. They’ve even had a go at the pea-like flowers of a Coronilla – something I’ve never seen before. Thankfully, they’ve overlooked these Primroses – for now though at least. And finally, set off perfectly by the upside down yellow bucket weighed down with a brick to protect the water feature, is this rather keen Tulip (‘Word Friendship’ I think). Worryingly, they seem to be flowering about 4 weeks earlier than last year.

They were my Six on Saturday, a meme originally started by The Propagator. For more Sixes on Saturday, from all around the world, head over to the blog of our Six on Saturday host, Jim. Hmm, it’s raining out there. I don’t thing there’ll be any more tidying up in the garden today. Perhaps I’ll do a spot of online seed buying instead.

21 thoughts on “Six on Saturday (9 March 2024)

  1. It was the ideal week, I too pruned my hydrangeas on Thursday but apparently we didn’t have the same weather because here there was a lot of sun and spring temperatures (even if the mornings were a little cool). On the other hand, I see that your Kojo has started and still a week ahead of mine….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the sunshine got us all out deadheading hydrangeas this week! Your Prunus Kojo no mai is ahead of mine, I just have a couple of flowers so far, maybe by next Saturday I’ll be able to photograph it. Love the primrose, I now have lots in the driveway border, they are seeding everywhere!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, I haven’t even finished pruning the roses, so the hydrangeas won’t be tackled until I complete that job. I really need a week of perfect weather – and that’s not on the horizon yet. It’s lovely to see your ‘Kojo-no-Mai’ coming back into bloom. There’s no blossom in my garden yet, but it’s always something to look forward to. Beautiful tulip – it has definitely been in a hurry to say ‘hello world’! 

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It has! It’s proved to be a good variety for returning each year (I think I planted most of them around 3 years ago and another batch a year later). The Kojo-no-Mai’ put on a surprising amount of growth last summer having barely grown at all since it was planted in 2018 or so – it may well help screen the view of the tops of vans and cars behind the house after all!

      Like

  4. You are not the only one to mention tiny snails. I have seen some here and I am now wondering if they are the culprits eating my flowers 🤔 Seed buying sounds like a very sensible idea on yet another wet weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Seed sowing may have to wait a while though – especially while the snails are so prolific. I’ve never known them be quite so destructive before when it comes to flowers. You see one about to open, think “I must take a photo of that tomorrow when it does open” and then find it shredded!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I totally get the thing about taking photos in the front garden, I don’t even much like gardening out there. Good thing it’s tiny compared to the back. I can’t get hyacinths past the assassins, which I regret the more for seeing your beauty.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They’re too busy eating all the narcissus flowers here to bother with the Hyacinths. I don’t enjoy gardening out the front either. Thankfully there’s a low hedge to hide behind when kneeling to do any weeding. There’s nowhere to hide when the neighbours appear though.

      Like

Leave a comment