Six on Saturday (23 March 2024)

Proper gardening finally commenced last weekend. Lawns were cut (it’s amazing how a neatly mown and edged lawn pulls the garden back into shape), a few shrubs were pruned (including the increasingly large Daphne x transatlantica ‘Eternal Fragrance,’) the skeleton remains of this and that were pulled up, and a new small tree/large shrub was ordered. Spring has definitely sprung, although the weather has still been a bit of a mixed bag and is set to turn colder at the weekend, with yet more rain. Anyway, ’tis time for Six on Saturday.

1-3. We start with yet another photo of the half standard Prunus incisa ‘Kojo-no-Mai’ purely because it’s blossomy beauty is somewhat fleeting. Leaves are beginning to unfurl and I’m curious to see if this will be the year that it finally exceeds the height of the ancient bamboo screen & helps to hide the tops of cars and vans behind it. Planted back in 2018, it was only last year that it really put on any significant growth. I’m hoping the nearby standardised Photinia x fraseri ‘Louise’ will also help improve the old privacy situation – I took the plunge and pruned the branches back a bit last weekend to encourage it to bush out. I’m not usually a Photinia fan but this variegated variety won be over. And this deliciously scented Narcissus ‘Geranium’ has just begun to flower. Whether its blooms will still be unnibbled come the morning who knows?

4-6. Another late flowering Narcissus up next – N. ‘Thalia’ looks rather elegant with its slender petals. Again, I suspect it’s only a matter of time before the slimy plant assassins of the night discover it. I planted a few more last autumn but I think I need more still. The diminutive and stripey Tulip ‘Czaar Peter’ (a bargain purchase from the very much missed Wilko) has returned for a fourth year (looking rather lily-like here). I wasn’t a fan when it first flowered in 2021 but it has grown on me over the years. And finally, Tulip ‘Apricona’ is still looking lovely – especially backlit by some rare sunshine. More have appeared over the past week.

They were my Six on Saturday, a meme originally started by The Propagator. For more Sixes on Saturday, from all around the world, head over to the blog of our Six on Saturday host, Jim.

23 thoughts on “Six on Saturday (23 March 2024)

  1. It’sa always nice to see your Prunus ‘Kojo-no-Mai as it progresses through the early spring weeks. The colours in the Photinia are a lovely sight. Thalia is gorgeous – I didn’t plant any this year, but not a single one has come back from previous years. I’m not happy about that – it’s a lovely, strong variety that holds up to the winds we have here.

    Tulip ‘Czaar Peter’ is a wee beauty (one I might copy) and T. Apricot is gorgeous too. I’d grow that one too if I thought it would flower here in March.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve had a few varieties of Narcissi dwindle over the past few years. Some seem to do really well, others not so much (‘Sailboat’ has done very poorly this year). The tulips have flowered about 2 or 3 weeks earlier than last year I think. The wind is bashing everything about at the moment and we had hail a moment ago!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I also like N. Thalia, mine thankfully come back each year to brighten up the rockery and I also have N. Geranium flowering in the back border, lovely perfume too. Like your little tulip too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Flowers everywhere! I am feeling impatient! I blame it on having grown up in southern California. I still feel weird about trees that have no leaves and get excited when I see signs of bud – I secretly worry that they may have all dies over winter. Irrational, but I am never used to it. Soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Narcissus ‘Geranium’ is a beauty. I had to dig up all the bulbs in the old raised bed last autumn. I did replant them in the new herb bed, but randomly instead of in their groups. Some have come up, but many have been eaten before opening which is a shame. Maybe I’ll buy new ones for next year. I do like the white ones. We also had hailstones this morning!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment