Six on Saturday (30 March 2024)

I don’t think I remember having experienced such a wet and windy spring before. Last Saturday, a sudden gale hit, and I noticed the old fence at the back of the garden wobbling rather ominously. It turned out two posts were on their way out.

The fantastic chaps that put up our new fence back in 2022 began work on it yesterday, in between the frequent heavy showers. It’s one of those closeboard fences that are built from scratch on site – so it’s had to be completely dismantled first, leaving the back garden completely exposed. It’s likely to remain that way until later next week. It’s a little unsettling stepping out there at the moment – rather like having a second front garden. Thankfully, most of the photos for today’s SoS were taken before the fence was taken down.

1-3. Up first we have Narcissus ‘Tahiti.’ I didn’t plant any additional Tahiti bulbs last autumn but a few of the older lot have returned – although only in this particular part of the garden, near the wildlife pond. This dark Tulip was part of a mixed pack purchased a few years back. I think it might be ‘Ronaldo.’ Alas, he seems to be the sole ‘Ronaldo’ survivor, which is a pity as he’s rather nice. Nearby is the love it or hate it Tulip ‘Green Dance’ that reappears every year without fail. I wasn’t a fan initially, but it’s growing on me… I think.

4-6. One lot of Tulips I wouldn’t be without are T. Prince Mixed. I plant a pot of these very November. Ficaria verna ‘Brazen Hussy’ has finally produced a few unnibbled yellow flowers, contrasting nicely with the dark purple foliage, and do you remember Viburnum carlesii ‘Compactum II’ from last year? Well, it’s in full bloom, although I’ve foolishly planted it just a little bit too far away from the edge of the path to fully appreciated the fragrant flowers. Hopefully, once it gets a bit bigger the flowers will be within easier reach.

They were my Six on Saturday, a meme originally started by The Propagator. For more Sixes on Saturday, from all around the world, head over to the blog of the current Six on Saturday host, Jim. Have a good Easter weekend.

16 thoughts on “Six on Saturday (30 March 2024)

  1. Just look at all those tulips! You have so many beautiful tulips and Narcissi it’s hard to know where to start. I do like Tulip ‘Green Dance’ – it’s so elegant and definitely a standout! T. ‘Prince Mixed’ is a fabulous combination of colours, I must look out for that one. ‘Tahiti’ is a smashing-looking narcissus. I hope the viburnum stretches out towards your path, but meantime – I would be happy just to be able to look at the flowers. Bad weather or not, spring has truly arrived in your garden.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Was that Viburnum carlesii ‘Compactum’by any chance from a local nursery. I was looking for a scented compact spring flowering shrub, and having read up about it, it just fits the bill! Lovely set of spring flowers in your garden.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Spring has arrived at your place, and I love the swooping swallows! I kind of like the Green Dance especially as it seems to keep coming back. Always a good sign in a tulip. I have a few wobbly fence bits too, I need to get out with a screwdriver and some screws when it stops raining!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. First prize this week goes to: Narcissus ‘Tahiti

    I love the unusual petal formation.

    As for weather, I don’t think I recall having so much rain in March. I hope this much rain will at least postpone the drought measures.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment