Six on Saturday (27 April 2024)

A lightening paced, blink and you’ll miss it, here’s-one-I-typed-a-few-days-earlier Six on Saturday (I’m in the Big Smoke as I post this and about to enjoy a Premier Inn breakfast).

1-3. The deliciously fragrant flowers of the Korean Lilac (Syringa meyeri ‘Palibin’) have begun to open, the daisies out the front (the offspring of a plant from the former free plant nursery up in North Wales) are blooming away, and the Bluebells at the nearby Hestercombe Gardens were looking rather splendid last Sunday.

4-6. The rather straggly and possibly short-lived perennial Erysimum ‘Apricot Twist’ got chopped back a few days ago. Cuttings have been taken and the flowers are filling the living room with their wonderful scent (which oddly enough is rather orangey). The Daphne x transatlantica ‘Pink Fragrance’ is doing it’s perfumed pink petally thing by the back door, and look who’s returned! Actually, there have been at least three hedgehogs in the garden these past few weeks – and there was a bit of hedgehog courting too!

They were my Six on Saturday, a meme originally started by The Propagator. For more Sixes on Saturday, from all around the world, head over to the blog of the current Six on Saturday host, Jim.

26 thoughts on “Six on Saturday (27 April 2024)

  1. It’s great seeing so much colour in the Sixes now. Hestercombe isn’t very far from me but I haven’t been there for several years, thanks for reminding me about it. Hedgehog photo is obviously the winner but, plant-wise, the daisies come a close second.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, my husband loves those Premier Inn breakfasts too! Enjoy your visit to the Big Smoke. As usual, your plants are way ahead of mine. None of my lilacs are in bloom yet, your ‘Palabin’ is lovely. I haven’t come across Erysimum ‘Apricot Twist, this is one to note. Yep. Mine are also starting to look rather straggly. Love your wee hedgehog! Three of them? They must love your garden!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. We weren’t sure the breakfasts were quite as tasty as they used to be this time – they’re more pricey than they used to be too! It wasn’t until I brought in the cut flowers of ‘Apricot Twist’ that I became aware of the fragrance – it filled the living room. We had three hedgehogs in the garden last night – one scoffing the food and the other two were courting!

      Like

  3. Can’t beat a Premier Inn breakfast 🙂 Fabulous selection! I didn’t realise you were near Hestercombe, it is probably my favourite UK garden to visit. I really like that erysimum. I find they are all very short lived and a programme of annual cuttings is necessary to keep them going, but luckily they seem to take very easily. Hope you have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Turns out we were staying a short walk from St Paul’s Cathedral which was handy. Erysimum seem to go quite leggy and woody after a while. I’m not all that good with cuttings (apart from Penstemons) but hopefully some will take – if not I’ll have to buy some more try again. I must do the same with the Bowles Mauve variety too.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ooh hedgehogs making whoopie, you must be doing something right in the garden! I have an apricot wallflower like that one, I must see if it survived the dry summer. 🌼

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment