Six on Saturday (20 April 2024)

Making the most of the dry and reasonably sunny weather last weekend I finished off most of the tasks on the ‘to do’ list. Dahlias have been repotted and vine weevil larvae dispatched. An old large Coronilla out the front that hasn’t produced many flowers these past few years was dug up and replaced by one of it’s offspring. Most importantly, a few seeds have finally been sown. I almost didn’t bother this year, tempted to buy pre-grown plants instead. But once I started writing out labels and filling pots with seed compost, I found my enthusiasm for the task returning. The Strawflower seeds have already started to germinate and a few Cosmos seedlings are starting to poke through the surface of the compost. It’s all very exciting.

While it’s been a much drier week, it’s been rather chilly, and the ‘moderate breeze’ forecast on the BBC weather app these past few days has been full on windy at times, making photographing this and that for today’s Six on a Saturday a little challenging.

1-3. I seem to have lots of clumps of Narcissus ‘Pheasant’s Eye’ coming into flower, which is odd as they don’t usually survive many years in my garden and I don’t recall planting more last autumn – although II guess I must have done. One of the last of the Narcissus to flower, they’re a pleasing sight and miraculously unnibbled so far. I introduced Red Campion to the garden many years ago. It seeds itself about, mingling nicely with this and that – although it can suffer from infestations of black aphids sometimes. The egg custard tart/nutmeg scented Clematis montana has escaped over/through the fence into the neighbours’ garden, despite my best efforts to contain it. Still, it must be better than the ivy and brambles we get from their side.

4-6. The mini-standard Ceanothus growing in a pot out the front has burst into bloom. It seems to thrive on neglect as I often forget to water it over the summer. It could do with a good prune after flowering. Also out the front, a few of the fragrant ‘Brown Sugar’ Tulips planted several years ago are still coming up – I really must plant some more come the autumn. And the Weigela grown from a cutting by my mum a number of years ago has bloomed.

They were my Six on Saturday, a meme originally started by The Propagator. For more Sixes on Saturday, from all around the world, head over to the blog of the current Six on Saturday host, Jim. Hey up, it’s calm out there this morning, barely the whisper of a breeze. I hope it lasts.

26 thoughts on “Six on Saturday (20 April 2024)

  1. This pot of ceanothus looks very bulky! It’s very flowery. A little ahead of mine for once, but mine is in the ground and I should see it flowering (if temperatures rise 😅🙃) next week. The narcissus ‘pheasant’s eye’ is always a stunning flower.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s great to get a few ‘real’ spring days isn’t it! It’s much more fun to be outdoors when the weather’s decent. A late Narcissus sounds great addition to the garden borders at this time of the year. Note made about ‘Pheasant Eye’! That’s a gorgeous Ceanothus I like the soft blue of that one. I think I added Brown Sugar tulip to my want list last year – but didn’t buy it. It’s back on the list again, I need to invest in anything that will come back each year and the colours are great. Finally, your mum’s a gem for gifting you plants & cuttings from her garden – the Weigela’s a beauty.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a shame.The guide on my Strawflowers seed packet says to sprinkle them on top of the compost and to leave the seeds uncovered. I put the pot on a windowsill and placed some cellophane over the top to create a bit of humidity (or a small plastic bag). The guidance says they can take ages to germinate but I’ve found them to be one of the fastest which is odd.

      Like

  3. My pheasant or poet’s eye narcissi never flower. Leaves appear, but nothing. They can’t possibly be congested. I’m dithering over sowing seeds indoors, or waiting until next month to Direct sow them. Decisions, decisions…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your neighbours are fortunate to get some of that beautiful Clematis! And it’s a lovely Weigela – I have three small ones that would be much larger by now if I would have provided better rabbit protection in winter. Maybe this year…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve been and checked my Pheasants Eye Narcissus, still in tight bud! I’ll have to be patient. Love your Ceanothus, such a lovely blue! I have so much red campion, I have to pull at least half of it out, it’s far too free with its seed!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely images! I like the blue ceanothus. I have been thinking to try our native white one, Ceanothus americanus. It is not more than 3 feet tall, whith lovely white flowers and is host for the Spring and Summer Azure butterflies. There is a variety native to California that I appreciated growing up.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m not sure I could have something wafting of custard/nutmeg near the house–I’d constantly be hungry! 🙂 But I hope your neighbors appreciate the deal they are getting and offer something back other than ivy and brambles! I did plant a clematis montana this year out at the property edge. If the deer let it be, I’ll look forward to the aroma and a bakery trip immediately after! … That’s a very pretty weigela…sweet about the family connection.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment