Six on Saturday (6 April 2024)

I’m feeling a bit weary. Making the most of a reasonably dry day yesterday, I spent all day painting the repaired fence. Yet there seem to be so many things that still need doing. The swing seat has yet to be uncovered and treated. The blue shed could do with a fresh coat of paint – but that will require emptying a water butt so I can move it to paint one of the walls. I’ve yet to set set up the water feature, check on the Dahlias, clean the mini greenhouse or sow any seeds. I’m not usually this behind with everything but the weather really hasn’t proved very cooperative on the days I don’t work. I hope things improve soon. Anyway, time for Six on Saturday, and we start with the newly painted fence…

1-3. Worryingly, I discovered that the one original fence post we left in, thinking it nice and sturdy, without any sign of wobble, is rotting at the base. Typical. Still, it’s painted now, although an hour after finishing the heavens opened. Let’s hope the ‘Misty Heathland’ paint really is shower proof after 60 minutes. What’s that? It looks grey? Well, it didn’t on the little wooden sample at B&Q – it was a sort of creamy colour. The Honesty has begun to flower here, there and everywhere, and my new small tree has arrived – Cercis chinensis ‘Avondale.’ It’s going to take the place of the Callicarpa which hasn’t lived up to expectations.

4-6. Next up, a Bleeding Heart which resembles upside down turtles. The white variety has never survived the winter here for some reason, but this one, planted last spring, has returned. I was given a free packet of mixed double Tulips by J. Parker’s when I placed my bulb order last autumn. I shoved them in a pot and really wasn’t expecting to like them, thinking I was a bit anti double tulips. However, I’ve been pleasantly surprised. And finally, the Bee Fly has returned to the garden, just in time for the Forget-me-nots. This little chap was enjoying the sun near the fragrant Coronilla.

They were my Six on Saturday, a meme originally started by The Propagator. For more Sixes on Saturday, from all around the world, head over to the blog of the current Six on Saturday host, Jim.

28 thoughts on “Six on Saturday (6 April 2024)

  1. I know what you mean about being behind on all the gardening jobs – on the rare occasions my free time has coincided with good weather, my to do list just gets longer each time.
    Love the bee fly! I don’t think I’ve ever seen one in my garden. The cercis is gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think we all feel the same, behind on all the jobs thanks to the weather! Your bee fly is unusual, Don’t think I’ve ever seen one here. Love the Cercis, a super addition and I think the freebie tulips give a nice pop of colour.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I always get excited to see your garden, come spring time! 🌸🌼 Those double tulips were certainly worth it, very pretty. Gorgeous Cercis and bleeding heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, you’re in good company! I’m way behind with just about every task imaginable. I like the colour you’ve chosen for. Your fence. Is that a ‘Ducksback’ paint? We’ve been using it here in black and one year on, it’s still looking good.

    But to your lovely selection of flowers. Honesty is always pretty and the double tulip mix is beautiful. You always make such good choices of trees & shrubs – I LOVE the blossoms on the Cercis chinensis ‘Avondale.’ See, now you’ve got me thinking that I really, really need one here! 😆

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a Ducksback paint! Its seems to go a long way and it’s nice and thick so doesn’t go all over the place (having said that I ended up with quite a bit on my glasses and in my hair).

      The way the flowers cover the trunk on the Cercis is very unusual. It’s a bit of a twig at the moment but hopefully it will bush out one day.

      Like

  5. What a lovely six. The cercis is so pretty. Where do you get your trees from? And the mixed tulips are very colourful, I once had a free pack from J Parkers and was surprised how good they were.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Cercis and a few others over the years have come from Ornamental Trees. Some have been better than others – a few have been rather spindly and my parents ended up with some far better specimens from their local B&M Bargains. Charella Gardens have provided some good half standards but they have less choice.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely selection! that cercis is beautiful. I have one in a pot that someone gave me but I cannot get it to flower. Callicarpa can be moody – mine berries better now I have two (cross-pollination maybe?) I’m sorry to hear you have mixed results with the bleeding heart but relieved to know it’s not just me – the white ones seem the miffiest of all, they seem to think they’re annuals in my hands!

    Like

Leave a comment