Six on Saturday (13 April 2024)

A fairly brisk Six on Saturday today as I’m off to work in a moment (one of the rare Saturdays in the year one has to do archivisty things). Thankfully, I made the most of my Friday off, enjoying the first dry, warm, sunny day in what seems like months. The swing seat was uncovered and treated and the Trachelospermum was tied in to the newly installed wires on the fence. I still haven’t sown any seeds, the Dahlias have yet to be inspected and repotted, and I’ve ended up with a bare rooted rose to try and find space for. But it felt good to be out in the garden without having to dash into the house to avoid the showers. Hopefully I’ll have a few hours this afternoon to complete a few more tasks.

1-3. Up first, suspicious Bluebells (although these look less suspect than some of the others elsewhere in the garden). Attempts at getting shot of the hybrids have failed miserably. Maybe I should just learn to tolerate them – they are pretty. Narcissus ‘Winston Churchill’ was planted last autumn thanks to a timely reminder from Heyjude who introduced them to me. They smell wonderful. I nearly went for the pink Daphne x transatlantica ‘Eternal Fragrance’ for number three but substituted it at the last minute for a foliage photo instead as the Astilbe, Fern, Jacob’s Ladder and moss over by the small wildlife pond looked rather pleasing together.

4-6. Next up, a selection of Tulips. A lot are going over now but ‘Mistress Mystic,’ the orange fragranced ‘Ballerina’ and the diminutive ‘Honky Tonk’ (I think) have started doing their thing. There’s been no sign of ‘Tulip Lady Van Eijk’ or ‘Kansas Proud’ yet though which is a shame – I have a lot of dark orangey-red Tulips though which makes me wonder if an error was made with the order back in the Autumn. We shall see.

They were my Six on Saturday, a meme originally started by The Propagator. For more Sixes on Saturday, from all around the world, head over to the blog of the current Six on Saturday host, Jim. Right, off to work I go.

10 thoughts on “Six on Saturday (13 April 2024)

Leave a comment